On the record: How WNC legislators voted in the overrides of the governor’s veto of the state budget


On June 15, the North Carolina House of Representatives and the North Carolina Senate each voted to override Gov. Bev Perdue’s veto of the state budget, thus enacting the 342-page Current Operations and Capital Improvements Approprations Act of 2011(Session Law 2011-145).

The House voted 72-47 and the Senate voted 31-19 to override the governor’s veto of the budget. Here’s a roll call of how Western North Carolina lawmakers voted:

Western North Carolina state representatives Patsy Keever (D-Buncombe), Ray Rapp (D-Madison) and Susan Fisher (D-Buncombe) chat on the House floor in April 2011. Photo by Travis Fain.

North Carolina House of Representatives members in WNC

North Carolina Senate members in WNC

  • Sen. Debbie Clary (R), who represents Rutherford and Cleveland counties (District 46), voted FOR the veto override.
  • Sen. Ralph Hise (R), who represents Avery, Haywood, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell and Yancey counties (District 47), voted FOR the veto override.
  • Sen. Tom Apodaca (R), who represents Buncombe, Henderson and Polk counties (District 48), voted FOR the veto override.
  • Democratic Leader Sen. Martin L. Nesbitt, Jr. (D), who represents Buncombe County (District 49), voted AGAINST the veto override.
  • Sen. Jim Davis (R), who represents Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Jackson, Macon, Swain and Transylvania counties (District 50), voted FOR the veto override.

Source: North Carolina General Assembly website.




About the Author

Kathleen O. Davis

Kathleen O. Davis is a contributing reporter to Carolina Public Press. Contact her at kathleenodavis@gmail.com.

Leave a Comment